Senior Citizens’ Annual Party 2016: A Brief Reflection

Last night I helped out at the Town Mayor of Bollington’s Senior Citizens’ Welfare Committee’s Annual Party at the Civic Hall in Bollington and I must say it was one of the best nights I have had. This was the first time I have been involved in something like this and I was blown away by how many people work hard to put on a great evening of fun, food, music and dancing for our older residents.

Councillor Andy Langdon helping set the tables up.
Councillor Andy Langdon helping set the tables up.

 

The Obvious Selfie
The Obvious Selfie

 

Setting up the tables
Setting up the tables
A cheeky look behind the scenes
A cheeky look behind the scenes

 

I met so many people there last night from my childhood who I had not seen in years including Mrs Greensmith who was my first ever teacher at St John’s Primary School, Mr Gascoigne, who despite his many duties as caretaker of the school spent many a lunch time ascending the school roof to get our footballs down and I also saw one of my dinner ladies Mrs Wood and had a great chat with all of them. Mrs Wood invited me for a brew! I also saw a very old friend of mine from Primary School who I have not seen in years, but every time we meet we always have a good time.

My First Teacher: Mrs Greensmith and I. What a nuisance child I was for this lady.
My First Teacher: Mrs Greensmith and I. What a nuisance child I was for this lady.

A few highlights:

  1. Watching people seeing old friends who they haven’t seen in a long time is a really good thing to see.
  2. The DJ, Ernie, played some old favourites and the guests were singing away, this was pretty awesome
  3. Many folks got up to dance to do the Waltz etc. This was good to see. I refrained from getting involved as I don’t know the dance and I’d end up in A&E!
  4. The cakes! Goodness me, the cakes!

From the whole experience, I learned that we shouldn’t take things for granted. We read all the time how social media is destroying the quality of friendships and watching how strong the friendships are amogst the older residents despite not seeing each other for long periods of time was heart warming.

I learned that we shouldn’t take music for granted and always take the opportunity to sing. Joining in with everyone singing Tony Christie’s @Is this the way to Amirillo?” was a lot of fun. Always Sing and always dance. I was embarrassed to remember that I danced last night, but I know I’d regret it a lot more if I didn’t!

A full up and ready for a Boogie!
A full up and ready for a Boogie!

For those that know me, know that I spend a lot of time with my Grandma and Grandad. Because of this, I am passionate about our Senior Citizens which is why I wanted to get involved. Seeing the many different people who are involved with this committee is very inspiring. There are so many people doing so many good things in Bollington. It really is fantastic!

I am proud to be from Bollington and I have pride in Bollington and of it’s people. Let us not forget that the pride we feel is because those that came before us made it a place to be proud of and those people are our Senior Citizens! One day we will be Senior Citizens and it is my hope that I can help instil the pride of Bollington in our future generations of Bollington residents.

 

For more information on the Bollington’s Senior Citizens’ Welfare Committee check out some information on Happy Valley website.

 

THESE VIEWS ARE MY OWN AND DO NOT REPRESENT THE COLLECTED VIEWS OF BOLLINGTON TOWN COUNCIL.

Leave a Reply

