Your Questions: Why do the goalpost’s get taken down over Summer?

I would like to introduce a new section of the blog, where by I answer question’s presented to me by the public. I do answer your questions directly but I will also look to publish them here in the hopes that if you have the same question you can see the answer here.

question: why do all the goal posts in Bollington parks have to come down in the summer?
answer:

This issue always bugged me as a child growing up in Bollington. When it was the school holidays, my friends and I would go down to the Rec to play football and the goal posts would have been removed. It was deeply infuriating and we could never understand why? So, this question resonated with me as it has affected me in the past. The person also experiences similar issues as I did as a child. Her partner takes the kids down to the park and the goal posts have also been removed from here also, which is infuriating for her children as one of them is training to be a goal keeper so he is unfortunately missing one key training element…goal posts.

I recorded the issues and wanted to address it at the appropriate meeting. I was delighted to discover that I am on a working group called “Friends of the Rec” which is a group that endeavours to make sure the Rec is a beautiful, enjoyable and safe place to be. I raised this issue in the hopes of getting an answer, and I wasn’t wrong but I must say it wasn’t what I was looking for.

The following answer is the exact answer (although edited for grammatical and spelling errors as I as I have Shrek thumbs and answered via my mobile phone) I gave to the person directly via my Facebook page.

I was told the reason for taking the nets down was due to reseeding the grass. The rationale for this is due to the wear and tear of the grass. this helps to REGENERATE the grass for future use. Unfortunately, it is not the answer you are looking for. but this makes sense and I doubt it will be hard to overturn as there is no other time to commit to reseeding the grass. If you have any further suggestions please do let me know and I will raise it. I don’t know how convenient it is to you, but there are nets on Adlington Road park.

 

In response, the person stated that it takes 4-6 weeks to grow back, and suggested the idea that would it be possible to re-seed pitches at different times so one pitch would be available with nets? I feel that this may also be an issue in terms of when grass is likely to grow and this is the most appropriate time. I will raise this suggestion to committee at the next meeting and will provide any response I am given.

 

any questions, issues or comments, please do not HESITATE to contact me via facebook, twitter, or this site

 

Leave a Reply

