A Thank You Message

Whilst studying Psychology at University, volunteering for Cheshire Probation Service and supporting people with thier mental health, I developed a wider understanding of the issues that affect the local community and the vast array of public, private and voluntary services that are available and help so many people within the community. I realised I was very ignorant in my knowledge of local services as I didn’t know some existed and were even right on my doorstep. Because of this, I decided I wanted to get involved within the community and make a positive difference. I decided I wanted to try to become a Town Councillor and help shape the place I was born and raised for the better. I made that decision 3 years ago and I had to wait until this year to nominate myself forward. On Saturday, around 5:20pm, the votes were counted and ready to announce. The community had spoken, and I am proud, honoured and privileged that I was elected to be a Town Councillor.

I just wanted to write a short blog to say thank you. I want to thank you all for liking my Facebook page, this blog and the twitter account. Thank You for sharing all the posts and tweets. Thank you for your comments of support and thanks to those that I met in the street who challenged me as it helped to clarify my purpose and what I was passionate about.

It felt amazing to see my name on the paper with “elected” next to it. I came 2nd in my election and I am really proud of that. I am overwhelmed by the fact that people even voted for me, and if that was you, I am very grateful. 

I feel very lucky to have been nominated because the competition was really strong. Labour candidate David Laffan, Conservative candidates Jon and Helen Weston, Independant candidate Jane Hougton, and lastly my fellow comrade (as counsillor, Ken Edwards would say) for Bollington First, Andrew Langdon all of whom worked very hard during the campaign. I have enjoyed every step of this process but I am new to everything and many of the other candidates have experience and have done a great service to the community. I aim to reach and exceed the bar they set so high. 

I would also like to publically thank James Nicholas and Amanda Stott of Bollington First for having me. They are very gracious, humble and helpful people who have been a fountain of knowledge and support throughout my campaign.

To those people that voted for me, I want to thank you one last time. And to those that are reading this who didn’t vote for me, I hope that my efforts as Councillor demonstrate that I am a worthy candidate who serves the community with dignity, integrity and pride.

So what now? Now the hard work begins. Keep your eyes peeled as I will be very active on social media such as Facebook and Twitter as well as this very blog. Feel free to contact me on any of these methods, and I believe my contact details will be added on to Town Council websit soon.

Thanks again. I won’t let you down.

Leave a Reply

