What do YOU think the real issues of Bollington are?

My philosophy on the role of the Councillor is to represent the people of the community who vote to put you there. The values, skills and attributions to do this to a high standard are but not limited to:

  • Transparency
  • Communication
  • Honesty
  • Integrity
  • Efficiency

In an effort to demonstrate my commitment to these values, I would ask you to select what you believe to be the biggest issue that faces Bollington currently. Therefore, this can assist me is targeting these issues with more diligence, efficiency and importance. It is important to address the issues that are of the most concern to you, the Bollington community.

Please select what you feel is important and hit ‘vote’. I shall release the results next week. It will be exciting to see what you all think!

 

I AM A CANDIDATE FOR THE CENTRAL WARD IN THE UPCOMING BOLLINGTON TOWN COUNCIL ELECTIONS ON MAY 7TH. I AM APART OF BOLLINGTON FIRST, A GROUP OF INDIVIDUALS WITH NO POLITICAL AFFILIATION WHO PUT BOLLINGTON FIRST. I BELIEVE THAT THE SOLUTIONS TO THE ISSUES IN BOLLINGTON SHOULD NOT BE GOVERNED OR INFLUENCED BY THE INTERESTS OF PARTY POLITICS. I BELIEVE THAT THE PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN BOLLINGTON SHOULD GOVERN AND INFLUENCE THEM. I WANT TO REPRESENT YOUR VOICE FOR THE TOWN WE LOVE, BOLLINGTON. IF YOU AGREE, I IMPLORE YOU TO VOTE FOR ME IN THE BOLLINGTON TOWN COUNCIL ELECTIONS ON 7TH MAY 2015. I WILL JUDGE ISSUES ON THEIR STRENGTHS AND ON THE BENEFIT TO THE PEOPLE OF BOLLINGTON AND WILL NOT BE INFLUENCED BY THE IDEOLOGIES OF PARTY POLITICS. I PUT BOLLINGTON FIRST BECAUSE I’M BOLLINGTON BORN AND I’M BOLLINGTON BRED.
4 thoughts on “What do YOU think the real issues of Bollington are?

  1. Housing for the local young people of bollington who wish to live in Bollington but can’t afford to they need help with getting on the property ladder but can’t do unless they have a deposit and a lot are on the minimum wage or just above that

    Like

    1. Good Morning Joanna, thanks for your comment, and apologies for the delay. You raise an important factor about the housing issues within Bollington, in which the people of Bollington possibly couldn’t afford to live in the town they grew up in. This concerns me, insofar as the community network in Bollington is fantastic. My Mother, has lived in Bollington all her life and her social network within Bollington is very strong, but she isn’t an isolated example. There are many people who live in Bollington who have very strong friendships within Bollington and know a lot of people within the town and it’s these friendships which are lifelong which creates the excellent community spirit which encapsulates the very essence of Bollington. My fear is that, in 10-15 years time Bollington will be very different, as house price soar and affordable housing in Bollington is limited. I appreciate that affordable housing isn’t just a Bollington issue but once in which is national, as any affordable house is often sought after by landlords looking for a buy-to-let, and that is something which really irks me to the core!

      Like

  2. The doctor’s surgery and the pharmacy. Can never get an appointment, never seems to be any doctors there when you do get one, it’s like a ghost town with one or two staff. If you do get to see someone you can’t get a prescription at the pharmacy without waiting a week, both really badly run , only going to get worse with all new houses. I’ve done a small survey with work colleagues, nowhere else seems to be as bad as Bollington.

    Like

    1. Good Morning Sue, thanks for your comment, apologies for lateness of my reply. I must be honest, I don’t share your experiences of the doctors. I was able to call the doctors and get an appointment the same day and was also able to get my prescription the same day too. I appreciate, this may be an isolated incident, and I may be one of the lucky ones. I do feel there is validity to your concern in relation to the efficiency of the doctors and pharmacy once new house are built and more people live in the town.

      The staff at the doctors in my opinion do a sterling job. You make a good point regarding skeleton staff, but unfortunately this comes down to the ‘higher ups’ doesn’t it? I’m sure the staff at the doctors and pharmacy would also like to see a service that is efficient and well staffed. There may be some silver lining to this dark cloud after all. When I attended the town planning meeting a few weeks ago at the civic hall, one Bollingtonian questioned the council regarding doctors and pharmacy and their efficieny and their staffing levels etc. Those in attendance were told that the pharmacy will be moving to the building where the old doctors used to be. It was told that Rowlands Pharmacy will be moving there. This appears to be a significant investment from Rowlands and due to the size of the building and the cost involved in the transfer it would be intuitive to assume that there would also be a commitment to hiring more staff to serve the community.

      However, at this stage there is no further information on whether staff levels would increase post-move, but here’s to hoping. In the meantime challenge the council to make sure your views and concerns of the doctors/pharmacy are hear and they can be acted upon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

