Why You Should Vote For Thomas Mayers

Why should we vote for you Thomas, you’re only 27 years old, what do you know?

Yes, I am 27. But I don’t see that as a barrier for me to be an effective Town Councillor. In fact, I think it is the opposite. I think that being 27, I will bring a fresh perspective to the Town Council. Now, lets be clear, I am not saying the current council is archaic and out of touch but I feel my presence within the Town Council would make it more dynamic, more diverse and more representative of the population of Bollington. But what do I know? That’s a good question. Well, having lived my entire childhood in Bollington, my family reside in Bollington and a large proportion of my friends live in Bollington. I believe that I understand what the community feel is good for the future of Bollington and I want to represent that and I am committed to carry out that responsibility.

English philosopher Jeremy Bentham said “It is vain to talk of the interest of the community, without understanding what is the interest of the people”. So what do party politics have to do with what happens to our town? I believe that the solutions to the issues in Bollington should not be governed or influenced by the interests of party politics. I believe that the people who live in Bollington should govern and influence them. I want to represent your voice for the town we love, Bollington. If you agree, I implore you to vote for me in the Bollington Town Council elections on 7th May 2015.

I will judge issues on their strengths and on the benefit to the people of Bollington and will not be influenced by the ideologies of party politics. I put Bollington First because I’m Bollington born and I’m Bollington Bred.

 

What skills and experience will you bring to being a Town Councillor?

I made the decision to stand for Bollington Town Council 3 years ago. In that time, I completed my (BSc) Psychology degree graduating with 1st Class Honours. During my degree, I was elected Student Representative for 2 years. This was a challenging and rewarding role where I developed many further skills and enjoyed representing my cohort and working towards positive changes in the teaching strategies within the University. Furthermore, I was nominated for Student Representative of the Year. I was also nominated for Psychology student of the Year and won Criminology student of the Year.

I also volunteered for the, then, Cheshire Probation Service for 3 years and I was lucky enough to secure a job, which I love with the Probation service (now Cheshire & Greater Manchester Community Rehabilitation Company). My job has allowed me to see how much positive, inclusive and diverse support services are available within the community. My experiences from volunteering, working in the mental health sector and criminal justice system have inspired me to become more engaged with my local community. More recently, I became engaged to my partner of 9 years, Laura.

I feel that I have gained some experience in representing people and I am looking to learn and develop these skills. I will work hard to make sure your views are heard and are represented to the highest standard. I am very excited to have the opportunity to represent Bollington and help shape the town towards a bright, prosperous future. I have witnessed some fantastic changes and I have also seen the changes that have slowly chiselled away at the beauty, charm and overall character that makes Bollington a beautiful place to live. I, along with your children, nieces, nephews and even grandchildren are going to inherit Bollington, and I would like to be a part of the town council to ensure that what we inherit is still the beautiful, picturesque town it is today.

 

Being a Town Councillor is a lot of work, would you be able to juggle this commitment with work and social life?

In a word, yes. I feel very confident that I can manage my time and give enough attention to this role to be an effective and efficient town councillor. For example, whilst studying for my degree, I also worked in Mental Health, I volunteered for Cheshire Probation Service, and I was and still am involved with TEDxSalford where I am a writer and Speaker Liaison. I was able to successfully manage these commitments and also achieve a 1st Class Honours degree.

 

I AM A CANDIDATE FOR THE CENTRAL WARD IN THE UPCOMING BOLLINGTON TOWN COUNCIL ELECTIONS ON MAY 7TH. I AM APART OF BOLLINGTON FIRST, A GROUP OF INDIVIDUALS WITH NO POLITICAL AFFILIATION WHO PUT BOLLINGTON FIRST. I BELIEVE THAT THE SOLUTIONS TO THE ISSUES IN BOLLINGTON SHOULD NOT BE GOVERNED OR INFLUENCED BY THE INTERESTS OF PARTY POLITICS. I BELIEVE THAT THE PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN BOLLINGTON SHOULD GOVERN AND INFLUENCE THEM. I WANT TO REPRESENT YOUR VOICE FOR THE TOWN WE LOVE, BOLLINGTON. IF YOU AGREE, I IMPLORE YOU TO VOTE FOR ME IN THE BOLLINGTON TOWN COUNCIL ELECTIONS ON 7TH MAY 2015. I WILL JUDGE ISSUES ON THEIR STRENGTHS AND ON THE BENEFIT TO THE PEOPLE OF BOLLINGTON AND WILL NOT BE INFLUENCED BY THE IDEOLOGIES OF PARTY POLITICS. I PUT BOLLINGTON FIRST BECAUSE I’M BOLLINGTON BORN AND I’M BOLLINGTON BRED.
Leave a Reply

